Asctrend indicator in depth

With newdigital, and its topic about Signal System, I started to get interested in Asctrend indicator. The oldest traders certainly knows this indicator, but personally, being a novice trader, I had never heard before. As a programmer, I decided to start this thread to share my analysis of this indicator, as published in the codebase.

My goal is to better understand its operation. For the best use for trading, and then try to make it the basis of an EA. I already made ​​an EA based on the ideas of newdigital, but I would like from this analysis go much deeper.

thank you both for this

Asctrend indicator is mainly based on WPR indicator. WPR is Larry Williams Percent Range indicator natively available in MT5 under William’s Percent Range.

How is Williams %R calculated ?
Default period is 14.

%R = (Highest High - Close) / (Highest High - Lowest Low) * -100 
Lowest Low = lowest low for the period 
Highest High = highest high for the period 
%R is multiplied by -100.

So WPR value is between 0 (if Close = Highest High) and -100 if (Close = Lowest Low). WPR reflect the relative move of Close price relative to Highest high.

Two levels are usually monitored -20 as overbought level and -80 as oversold level.

As I understand - asctrend system (original one which came from AbleSys platform to Metatrader 3 and later on - to Metatrader 4) - it is about WPR as a filter to filter false signals. MT4 versions of those indicators are attached.

I am not going to tell that WPR is the best filter. I only wanted to say that those kind of indicators are/were using in Asctrend for the long time and it is classical approach/style of asctrend. I mean: everything was started from it. Just for information

As you know, Asctrend system (from AbleSys) is composed of several indicators. I am talking here about AscTrend Signal indicator, only one available in Codebase. This AscTrend signal use WPR not as a filter but as main signal. I will come back later.