Multi-symbol Expert some code for sharing - MT5

Hello MT5 programmers.

I’ve been putting together a multi-symbol EA and am sharing the part of the expert that may be of some interest to some of you.

Please note that I am no programmer and have only started using MT5 in the last 2 weeks, so the code is by no means elegant nor probably very efficient. If someone can improve upon it and share that, great.

The basis of the multi-symbol operation is as follows:

1. Upon initialisation, synchronise history of all required symbols (28 in my case) and download sufficient bars for each. I have used the work of Andrey Khatimlianskii to do this.

2. Look for a new bar in the current time frame and symbol (EURUSD, M1 in my case). This is based on the approach provided by Andrew R Young in his book in MT4 programming.

3. Wait for all symbols to open a new bar that matches the time stamp of the chart to which the EA is attached. This is the while loop commencing at line 415 in the EA.

4. When a new bar is open on all symbols, download Closing price history for each symbol, sufficient to run the EA.

This seems to work fine in “live” mode as well as when used as part of an Indicator. However there is a problem that I can not solve. When running in Strategy Tester, the CopyTime loop exits on Time Expiry (line 455) as it is unable to find a new bar for all 28 symbols. If anyone can suggest a fix for this, that would be great as well.

cheers

Files:

MultiCurrency_EA_-Testing_Concept-TimeSeries-_Rev_1.1.mq5 32 kb

Hi,

You’re off to a good start for only two weeks. If you’re investing time in learning MQL5 I would advise picking up a good c++ tutorial (there aren’t many good modern-MQL tutorials) so you can get a good foundation in OOP.

One thing I want to point out that will kill your EA is the fact that you hard coded all your symbols, and as soon as you use a broker with appended symbols (eg. EURUSDi) your entire system will fail to work.